The Women’s Building Volunteer Spotlight: Ingrid Yau

 

20130319_105624Ingrid Yau joined The Women’s Building (TWB) in January 2013. Since then, she has been such an amazing addition to both our staff and volunteer team.

Ingrid has been a reliable tax preparer at our Free Volunteer Income Tax program (VITA) and served as one of our administrative assistants. She provided assistance in appointment scheduling and customer service to hundreds of low income individuals and families. We all appreciate Ingrid’s support, sweetness, and grounded way of doing tough work. She’s a gem! Read more about Ingrid’s involvement with the Women’s Building’s VITA program below:

Who is Ingrid Yau?  I was born and raised in Hong Kong and I came to the United States to pursue a higher education. I want to try as many things as possible now that I am young. I’m currently studying a master degree in accountancy at San Francisco State University.

What inspired you to volunteer at TWB?  The first time I heard about the Women’s building was at school. A senior student told me about the valuable experience that she gained from volunteering at TWB preparing taxes. My short term goal is to become a CPA and work in the taxation field. I believed that volunteering as a Tax preparer at TWB would give me the opportunity to strength my skills, my career, and most importantly help the low-income community of San Francisco.

What have you gained with your involvement at the TWB?  VITA at The Women’s Building has provided me the opportunity to truly learn about taxation field from a real-world perspective. By working with clients face-to-face and making phone calls to clients, I learned how to communicate with people more effectively. Moreover, it allowed me to apply knowledge learned in the classroom to real life scenarios. There is always a difference between learning theories and calculation to actually applying them in the real world. Volunteering at TWB helped to reinforce the concepts learned in class.

How do you think your involvement with VITA at TWB will impact your professional life?  The major impact was to reaffirm my interest in being an accountant. Preparing taxes to individuals gave me invaluable insight into whether or not the taxation industry is the right career choice for me. It also gave me a chance to develop and build skills. Learning new skills and enhancing the skills that I have already had through volunteering will definitely help me in future career opportunities and future application processes.

What piece of advice would you share with new volunteers or community members who are interested in supporting The Women’s Building VITA site?  Don’t be shy to participate in VITA at TWB. The more you get involved, the more you learn! I always learn something new while I am helping people out.

What do you enjoy the most about volunteering at The Women’s Building?  I love the fact that everyone in the VITA team helps each other out. Every time when I encounter difficulties or problems when filing taxes, my team-mates helped me out.

Can you share one fun fact about yourself?  I’m the youngest in my family and my dad is always very excited to know that I will start working soon.

~Ingrid interviewed by Lorena Eulogio, Logistics Coordinator

 

This entry was posted in Community Resource Room, Tax Prep Program, Volunteers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

